Music United 2009 Annual Meeting

Music United streamlines Executive Committee at Annual Meeting held in Ottawa

Music United, who held their Annual Meeting right before Worship Matters in June, held one of the most productive meetings in some time — mainly because last year there was no Annual Meeting, as the Worship Matter events were regional. This latest news is being written in June, just following the national Worship Matters event in Ottawa. It is important to share this news,with as many congregational music leaders as possible. By virtue of their music-leading activities in congregations, they are members of Music United – although many are not aware of it.

The first piece of news is the name – the United Church of Canada Association of Musicians, more commonly known as UCCAM, has officially renamed itself Music United. Information about the organization, its history, and activities is being updated on this website, so visit regularly and find out what the Executive Committee are up to. Please leave a message so that your visit can be noted and your membership can be acknowledged.

The fact of the matter is that there are several thousand church musicians providing music leadership in United Church congregations across Canada. Providing a network, resources and assistance to its entire membership continues to be a primary goal and challenge for Music United. This has never been easy, but given the ease of contemporary means of electronic communication, the potential for creating a viable network of far-flung members has never been greater.

Here is a list of Music United’s new Executive Committee and its Regional Convenors, those regions still based on Conference boundaries. Future plans are to appoint Presbytery Representatives, in an attempt to broaden the network and establish closer contact with all the musicians working in every congregation.


Chair: David Melhorn-Boe

Immediate Past Chair: Fran Pollet

Vice-Chair: Lynn Boothroyd

Secretary/Treasurer: Nancy Handrigan

Communications: Lloyd MacLean

Program Coordinator: Carol Zacharias

Member-at-Large: Lois Cossar

Member-at-Large Emeritus: Fred Graham


British Columbia: Fran Pollet

Alberta-Northwest: Joanne Melvin

Saskatchewan: Clayton Braybrook

Manitoba-Northwestern Ontario: Carol Zacharias

Manitou: David Melhorn-Boe

London: Sandra Young-Tangjerd

Hamilton: Nancy Handrigan

Toronto: John Joseph Mastandrea

Bay of Quinte: Lois Cossar

Montreal-Ottawa: Joan Henry

Maritime: Chris Bowman

Newfoundland & Labrador: Sid Woolfrey

All Native Circle Conference: vacant

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *